Supporting Environmental and Molecular Toxicology

To make a contribution today to support the OSU Environmental and Molecular Toxicology Department, visit the OSU Foundation website. Use the "Other amount" entry area and please make sure to list your gift as Environmental and Molecular Toxicology Unrestricted. Gifts to our "Unrestricted Fund" give us maximal flexibility in using the funds to strengthen our program at all levels.

We welcome your contribution to our Department, it will have an impact for both students and research in Environmental and Molecular Toxicology.

Thank you!


John HayesJohn and Judy Hays Scholarship Fund for Undergraduate Research Training

Dr. John Hays received his Ph.D. from the University of California-San Diego in 1968. He joined the Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology (then named Agricultural Chemistry) on July 1, 1987 after serving for 15 years as Professor in the Chemistry Department, University of Maryland - Baltimore County. Dr. Hays served as Department Head for Agricultural Chemistry from 1987 to 1990.

In recognition of Dr. Hays’ commitment to undergraduate research and to further enhance this activity at OSU, the Dept. of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology has established a fund to recognize Dr. Hays’ extensive contributions to the research and instructional mission of OSU throughout his career by providing scholarships for undergraduate students to conduct mentored laboratory research.

Donations to the John and Judy Hays Scholarship Fund for Undergraduate Research Training in any amount should be made "In honor of Dr. John and Judy Hays in support of the Environmental & Molecular Toxicology John and Judy Hays Scholarship Fund for Undergraduate Research Training”.

Dr. Eric A. Andreasen Graduate Student Travel Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship

Dr. Eric Andreasen had a resolute desire to conduct exceptionally sound scientific research that would have lasting societal impacts. He was instrumental in establishing zebrafish as a preeminent animal model for developmental toxicology research and made a number of other major contributions to developmental toxicology as well as to the fields of toxicogenomics, tissue regeneration, and aryl hydrocarbon receptor biology. He unfailingly offered to support and mentor others, and always made people feel welcomed and part of the research group family.

His commitment to others led to the career development of countless scientists. As a way of honoring the life and scientific accomplishments of Dr. Andreasen, an annual award was created in his name. The Andreasen Award recognizes an outstanding graduate student that best exemplifies the qualities of scientific excellence and leadership exhibited by Dr. Andreasen. The recipient of the Dr. Eric A. Andreasen Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Research and scholarship will receive support to present their research at a national or international scientific meeting in their area of expertise. Graduate student nominations will be accepted from faculty at Oregon State University and the University of Wisconsin‐Madison.

George BaileyGeorge Bailey Memorial

“Dr. Bailey retired from OSU after decades of outstanding research, instructional and service contributions to OSU,” said Craig Marcus, professor and head of the Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology (EMT). “His productive career focused on understanding of the mechanisms of chemical carcinogenesis, its modulation by dietary and environmental factors, and the development of cancer preventive agents.  He made outstanding contributions to the research and training programs in our department, and provided critical leadership in developing and growing the departmental programs to the level they are today.  He will be greatly missed by everyone in EMT and LPI. ”

The Linus Pauling Institute is establishing a George Bailey Graduate Student Fellowship in Cancer Research, with a goal of raising $250,000 to endow the fellowship. Anyone interested in contributing may contact the OSU Foundation or visit the EMT website.

“The students who receive this fellowship will be doubly inspired,” said Balz Frei, the LPI director and Joan H. Facey Linus Pauling Institute Professor, “by those who have invested in their future, and by George’s deep commitment to education, improved health, and rigorous scientific study.”