The integrated mission of the Department of Environmental & Molecular Toxicology (EMT) is to educate students in the toxicological sciences, to conduct research on the effects of chemicals and other agents on humans and the environment and to engage the public through extension and outreach. The EMT Department focuses on creating, disseminating, and applying new knowledge to enhance the treatment and prevention of human disease and to ensure the protection of the environment and public health.




Abdulaziz Alshehri has successfully passed his MS Exam.

Dan Elson successfully defended his PhD thesis: "A versatile receptor with a penchant for surprise: AhR as a therapeutic target in cancer".

Zach Kowash's Winning Poster from the 2022 CAS Career Fair and Student Showcase: "Comparing Structural Firefighters' On- and Off-Duty Exposure to Xylenes."

Dr. Jennifer Field received the 2022 Excellence in Postdoctoral Mentoring Award.

Yvonne Rericha successfully defended her PhD thesis: "Elucidating Structure-bioactivity Relationship and Modes of Action of Per- and Polyfluoralkyl Substance Toxicity in Zebrafish".

Kaci Buhl was selected to receive an Outstanding Service Award from UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education.

Daniel Elson received the Harvey H. and Donna Basic Cancer Research Fellowship for the second year in a row. Daniel was also awarded the LPI Travel Award for traveling to the Salk Institute Post-Translational Modifications meeting in San Diego.

Jared Martin received the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Foundation Foundation Scholarship Award.


Dr. Jennifer Fiend received the 2022 Swiss Chemical Society Lectureship Award.

Chloe Fender has been awarded the Oregon Lottery Graduate Scholarship Award.

Andre Schaum successfully passed his MS Defense. Title: "Expanding the Use of 19F NMR Spectroscopy in Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substance Analysis: Determination of Total Fluorine and Isomeric Distribution in Aqueous Film-Forming Foams."

Lisa Shepard, Finance Manager for Environmental Health Science Center and the Superfund Research Center/Research Office, belongs to the OSU 40 Year Club.

Anita Holman, Faculty Research Assistant in EMT, belongs to the OSU 25 Year Club.

Bryan Harper promoted to Senior Faculty Research Assistant II.

Dr. Lisa Truong promoted to Associate Professor, Senior Research.

The OSU-EHSC Pilot Project awarded Dr. Manuel Garcia-Jaramillo the Strategic Initiative Award for his research proposal: "Identification and Evaluation of Toxic Contaminant Mixtures in Surface Water from the Portland Harbor Superfund Site Using Effect-Directed Analysis Coupled to Non-target High-Resolution Mass Spectrometry."

Yvonne Rericha has received the 2022 Dr. Eric A. Andreasen Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarship.

The Hispanic Organization of Toxicologists has awarded Brianna Rivera The 2022 HOT Graduate Student Travel Award.