Current Officers (January 2015 - present)

Alix Robel – President

Advisor: Jennifer Field         E-mail:

I am second year graduate student in Toxicology, working under Dr. Jennifer Field. I am currently working on Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFASs) in consumer products and aqueous film-forming foams. My hobbies include cooking, yoga, and anything crafty. I joined TEAM Tox to get more involved in the activities of the department and engage with the commnity.

Prarthana Shankar - Vice President
Advisor: Robert Tanguay          E-mail: 

I joined EMT as a PhD student in 2014 and work in Robert Tanguay’s lab. My research primarily focuses on how activation of the aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AhR) by dioxins can inhibit epimorphic regeneration in zebrafish. TEAM Tox enables me to reach out to the community, share knowledge, and encourage public participation in science and education. When I’m not in lab I like to hike, mountain bike, and spend time with friends.

Martin Pearce - Treasurer and Secretary
Advisor: Siva Kolluri         E-mail

I am a third year Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD student working in Dr. Siva Kolluri's lab. My research focuses on the Bcl-2 family of proteins and their role in therapy resistant cancer. My research goal is to identify strategies to treat therapeutic resistant cancer. I joined TeamTox to become more involved in departmental activities and reach out to the community to communicate and share science knowledge. Outside of the lab, I enjoy playing soccer, hiking and mountain biking. 

Lindsay Denluck
Lindsay Denluck - APC Grad Representative
Advisor: Stacey Harper          E-mail:

I am a 3rd-year Ph.D. candidate researching nanotoxicology. I am excited to again serve TeamTox as the APC representative and to use my interests in student development and teaching to help guide the future of the program. Outside the lab, you'll find me riding my horse, wine tasting, or enjoying the outdoors with my dogs.

 Amber Kramer - Safety Committee Representative 
Advisor: Staci Simonich          Email: 

PhD Student in Chemistry Department, working with Dr. Staci Simonich on environmental PAH oxidation reactions.

I'm from Southern California and like hiking, camping, rock climbing, beach volleyball, trail running...Chances are when I'm not in the lab, I'm enjoying nature with my dog. 

Justin Rewerts
Justin Rewerts - DSC Chair
Advisor: Jennifer Field          E-mail:

I am a 4th year PhD candidate in the Department of Chemistry. I work under the direction of Jennifer Field and Staci Simonich. My current research deals with per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances and their detection in consumer products, as well as the environment. In my spare time: I love to cook, go on nature walks, and do Zumba classes!

Raymah Garcia - DSC CoChair
Advisor:          E-mail:

My name is Raymmah (rah-eee-maa) Garcia & I'm a third year graduate student in the Chemistry department. My research focus is on hydrocarbon surfactants in Aqueous Film Forming Foams (AFFFs) and AFFF-contaminated groundwater. In my spare time I practice Jiu-jitsu otherwise known as 'The Gentle Art'. 

Matt Slattery
Matt Slattery - Social Fundraising Chair
Advisor: Stacey Harper          E-mail:

I moved from Colorado to the Pacific Northwest in 2009 to start my undergraduate degree in Environmental Science at Western Washington University in Bellingham, WA. While there, I focused on environmental toxicology which led me to OSU to start my PhD in 2015. My research is focused on nanoparticle toxicity in soil systems with Stacey Harper's lab. Outside of school, I love to visit the many waterfalls in Oregon, ride my motorcycle, and play music.

Yvonne Chang - Outreach Chair
Advisor: Susan Tilton         E-mail:

As a graduate student in EMT, my research focuses on studying the toxicity of PAHs and PAH mixtures in a human lung tissue model using computational approaches. I am passionate about educational equity, and TEAM Tox Outreach is a great way to build  community and increase engagement with students. I am a San Francisco native and have a B.S. in Cell Biology from the University of California, Davis. In my spare time I enjoy Mexican food and floating the river.

Carolyn Poutasse- Outreach CoChair
Advisor: Kim Anderson          E-mail: 

Research Interests: Applications of silicone passive sampling devices (PSDs), agricultural occupational and para-occupational pesticide exposures, household chemical exposures and links to feline hyperthyroidism

Extracurriculars: choir, theater, biking, swimming

Elaine Jennings - Outreach Committee Member
Advisor: Jennifer Field 

Studying environmental fate and transport of pollutants. Nature lover and outdoors enthusiast who enjoys swimming, hiking, and spending quality time with her cat.

Lauren Crandon - Outreach Committee Member
Advisor: Robert Tanguay 
Daniel Elson - Outreach Committee Member
Advisor: Siva Kolluri       Email: 

I am currently performing research in Siva Kolluri's lab. I have a B.S. in Biology from Point Loma Nazarene University in San Diego. My research interests include cancer biology, nuclear receptor signaling, identification of novel drug targets, and developing therapeutics to overcome tumor resistance mechanisms. 

Courtney Roper - Post-Doc Mentor
Advisor: Robert Tanguay 

I am a postdoc developing methods to use zebrafish as a model to screen air pollution. When I'm not working I enjoy Pixar movies, cooking, and going to the coast. 

Veronica Puig Sanvicens - Post-Doc Mentor
Advisor: Siva Kolluri      Email: 

Past Officers

President Mitra Geir  
 Vice President  Mike Garland
 Treasurer  Lisandra Santiago Delgado
 Secretary  Alix Robel
 APC Grad Representative  Lindsey Denluck
 EAC Representative  Ben de Jourdan
 DSC Chair  Justin Rewarts
 DSC CoChair

Krista Barzen-Hanson

 Social Fundraising Chair  Matt Slattery
 Outreach Chair  Laura Holden
 Outreach CoChair  Yvonne Chang


February 2015 - March 2016

President Anna Chlebowski
Vice President Holly Dixon
Secretary Mitra Geier
Treasurer Bryson Finch
APC Grad Rep Carey Donald
Post-doc Rep Alan Jones
DSC Chair Leah Chibwe
DSC Co-chair Jamie Minick
Social/Fundraising Chair Matt Perkins
Outreach Chair Blair Paulik
Outreach Co-chair Alicea Clendaniel

February 2014 - January 2015

President Alan Bergmann
Vice President Anna Chlebowski
Secretary Derik Haggard
Treasurer Alicea Clendaniel
APC Grad Rep Lane Tidwell
Post-doc Rep Marc Elie
DSC Chair Prasad Kopparapu
DSC Co-chair Andrea Knecht
Social/Fundraising Chair Matt Perkins
Outreach Chair Erin Madeen
Outreach Co-chair McKay Allred

February 2013 - January 2014

President Lane Tidwell
Vice President Alan Bergmann
Secretary Blair Paulik
Treasurer Alicea Clendaniel
Social/Fundraising Chair Matt Perkins
EAC Representative (Grad) Steven O'Connell
EAC Representative (Post Doc) Josephine Bonventre
Outreach Chair McKay Allred

February 2012 - January 2013

President Steven O'Connell
Vice President Alan Bergmann
Secretary McKay Allred
Treasurer Jessica Phillips
Social/Fundraising Chair Jessica Phillips
EAC Representative (Grad) Leah Wehmas
EAC Representative (Post Doc) Sean Bugel
Outreach Chair Diana Rohlman

April 2011 - February 2012

President Steven O'Connell
Vice President Lisa Truong
Secretary Leah Wehmas
Treasurer Erin Madeen
EAC Representative (Grad) Britton Goodale

EAC Representative (Post Doc)

Siba Das

February 2010 - March 2011

President Kate Saili
Vice President Steven O'Connell
Secretary Lyndsey Shorey
Treasurer Sarah Allan
EAC Representative (Grad) Jill Franzosa
EAC Representative (Post Doc) Tamara Tal