Leah Chibwe awarded 2013 KC Donnelly Externship Award

Leah Chibwe, working in Dr. Staci Simonich's laboratory, has received a 2013 KC Donnelly Externship Award from NIEHS to conduct research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) with Dr. Michael Aitken.

Leah is from Zambia and completing her second year as a doctoral student in Chemistry. Her research focuses on predicting and measuring the degradation of by-products from polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) at Superfund sites. This work utilizes state-of-the-art analytical chemistry including Comprehensive 2-Dimensional Gas Chromatography coupled to Time of Flight Mass Spectrometry (GCxGC/ToF-MS).

Madeen/WilliamsErin Madeen wins RSESS Travel Award

Erin Madeen, working in Dr. Dave William's lab, received a Regulatory and Safety Evaluation Specialty Section (RSESS) Travel Award to go to the 2013 annual SOT meeting last March.

The poster she presented was entitled, "In Vivo human pharmacokinetics of dibenzo[def,p]chrysene (DBC) following microdosing. Bridging the gap between high dose animal data and environmentally relevant human exposures".  Erin also won the Diversity Advancement Pipeline Fellowship from the OSU Provost's office

GoodaleBritton Goodale Receives 2013 Women's Center Student Award

Britton Goodale, working in Robyn Tanguay's Lab, received the 2013 Women's Center Student award.

She was recognized for her PAH research contributions and publications. She has taken on leadership roles and is a trusted and dependable student worker in the Tanguay lab.

Andy LarkinThree Minutes to Change the World

Andy Larkin and Ed O'Donnell recently took part in Schlolars' Insights, a new program of the OSU Graduate School. Master's and doctoral students are asked to condense their research into a presentation no longer than three minutes.

For more information on the presentations, please visit the OSU Graduate School. Andy's presentation is available on YouTube: OSU Scholars Insights 2013 Winners

bissonWilliam Bisson Selected for Halifax Project Taskforce and Evaluation International Committee on SLA Italian Research

William Bisson has been selected for the prestigious Evaluation International Committee on SLA Italian research (as an expert in Drug Discovery) and a leader of another international initiative in Cancer initiated in Canada. He will be a leader of one of the taskforces (Biomarker and Disruptive Validation) for a series of peer review papers to be pubished next year. William will lead an international team of scientists in this initiative.

More information on this Halifax Project started by the Getting to Know Cancer Foundation in Canada is available at http://www.gettingtoknowcancer.org/taskforce_environment.php

SRP Student Highlight at NIEHS -Oleksii Motorykin

Oleksii MotorykinOleksii Motorykin, Superfund Research Program (SRP) trainee at Oregon State University, found for the first time that lung cancer deaths are linked to polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (PAH) emissions, independent of cigarette smoke. as a result of his hard work and discoveries, Motorkykin received two prestigious awards from the Division of Environmental Chemistry of the American Chemical Society (ACS) in 2013.

Motorykin received a 2013 Graduate Awards in Environmental Chemistry. The ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry sponsors up to 25 annual awards to full-time graduate students based upon students' records in course work, evidence of research productivity, and on statements from graduate faculty advisers.

He also won a 2013 Graduate Student Paper Award for an article about his findings that will soon appear in the journal Environmental Science and Technology. This is the highest award given fy the ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry to its student members.

LSU and OSU Co-host Workshop to Improve Post-Disaster Communication

The Louisiana State University (LSU) and Oregon State University (OSU) Superfund Research Programs (SRP) co-hosted “Response, Recovery, and Resilience to Oil Spills and Environmental Disasters: Engaging Experts and Communities,” a symposium and workshop for community stakeholders, researchers, and policy makers. The purpose of the workshop was to enhance communication between experts and citizens, encouraging better monitoring and sharing of information concerning local environmental conditions following disasters.

TEAM Tox visits Linus Pauling Middle School Science class

Mckay AllredFour classes of 8th grade students at Linus Pauling Middle School recently completed a module about oil spills and the subsequent clean-up.

Models take spotlight at council science talks (Environmental Factors - NIEHS News)

Robert Tanguay NIEHSAdvances in animal models were the focus of two scientific presentations at the Sept. 11 National Advisory Environmental Health Sciences Council meeting. Zebrafish and mice have been model organisms in environmental health sciences for a long time, but today researchers are crafting bold innovations to advance their usefulness as vehicles for scientific inquiry into toxicity and disease.

Council members were treated to exciting, informative talks by NIEHS Superfund Research Program grantee Robyn Tanguay, Ph.D.,   a distinguished professor of molecular toxicology and head of the Sinnhuber Aquatic Research Laboratory at Oregon State University; and lead researcher Jef French, Ph.D., head of the NTP Host Susceptibility Group within the Biomolecular Screening Branch.

Stacey Harper  2012 Outstanding New Environmental Scientist (ONES) award

Dr. Stacey Harper has just received a five year, $1.9 million "ONES" award as an 'Outstanding New Environmental Scientist' from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.  

Dr. Harper's grant is entitled ‘Integrative Studies to Define Drivers of Nanomaterial Toxicity’ and will focus on elucidating the structural relationships that can predict potential toxicity,  understand molecular  mechanisms of toxicity, develop safety protocols, and create new,  rapid testing strategies and other new tools to help protect both humans and the environment as this new  field of nanotoxicology emerges.

This funding opportunity announcement (FOA) targets exceptionally talented early stage investigators who intend to make a long-term career commitment to research in the mission areas of the NIEHS and assist them in launching an innovative research program focusing on problems of environmental exposures and human biology, human pathophysiology and human disease.

Dr. Stacey Harper has been selected to receive the 2012  L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholars award!!

The L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholars Program recognizes outstanding faculty at Oregon State University and provides resources to stimulate creative advancements in teaching, research, and extended education.  The theme of the award is to support creativity and innovation among the university’s top scholars and is supported by an endowment established by L.L. Stewart.  This award provides $30,000 in financial support for faculty selected as a Stewart Scholar.  Ten thousand of this amount will be awarded as a stipend to the faculty member, and $20,000 may be used for any allowable teaching, research, or extended education expenses, including faculty release time.  During the year after completion of a Stewart Scholar Program,  the awardee will deliver the L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholar Lecture. This Lecture (or workshop, if appropriate) will demonstrate or apply the accomplishments of the L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholar Program.